# UNIVERSITY AVIATION ASSOCIATION AWARDS NOMINATIONS

Nominations for all UAA awards may be made by UAA Professional, Associate, Corporate, or Institutional members.

Please provide a description of no more than two pages of the nominee's contributions with particular emphasis on activities within the past five years. An extra sheet may be attached if needed.

See www.uaa.aero>Membership>Awards Program for past winners of each award.

#### NOMINEE

Name:

Phone number:

E-mail address:

Mailing Address:

### PERSON SUBMITTING NOMINATION

Name:

Phone number:

E-mail address:

Mailing Address:

#### ADDITIONAL NOMINEE INFORMATION MUST BE PROVIDED (SEE BACK OF FORM)

Send completed Nomination Form to: Dr. David C. Ison • Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University - Worldwide • 4530 N Gantebein Ave, Portland, Oregon 92504-1903 • Phone: (503) 507-5697 • E-Mail: Isond46@erau.edu I am nominating this candidate for the following UAA Award:

- □ WILLIAM A. WHEATLEY AWARD The Wheatley award is granted each year to a professional educator who is a University Aviation Association *actively involved member, in good standing* and who has over ten years actual experience in the aviation education profession and who has made outstanding contributions to aerospace education. Nominees for the Award must be professional educators at the collegiate level. The award is made each year in memory of United Air Lines' William A. Wheatley--a dominant pioneer in the field of aviation education.
- □ **FRANK E. SORENSON AWARD** The Sorenson Award is presented to professional educators who are University Aviation Association *actively involved members in good standing*. Nominations for this award should reflect substantial scholarly contributions to the field of aviation research and scholarship comparable to the scope of research, scholarship and publications attained by Dr. Sorenson. Please submit a detailed listing of the nominee's Research/Scholarly contributions. If possible utilize the following categories: 1. Scholarly Publications; 2. Technical Reports/Trade Publications; 3. Funded Research; 4. Other Scholarly Activities. This information may be attached to the nomination form.
- □ V. L. LAURSEN AWARD The Laursen Award is granted to professional educators who are University Aviation Association *actively involved members in good standing* and who have at least five years actual experience in the aviation education profession and who have made outstanding contributions to aerospace education. This award is presented in honor of TWA's Captain Vern L. Laursen, Staff Vice President--Flight Operations Training.
- W. W. ESTRIDGE AWARD The Estridge Award is presented to representatives of industry who are University Aviation Association *actively involved members in good standing* and who are now or who have been for a significant period of time employed by the aviation industry and who have distinguished themselves as strong supporters of collegiate education. The award is made each year in honor of American Airlines' Captain W. W. Estridge, Jr.

#### **JOHN K. LAUBER AWARD FOR AVIATION SAFETY**

The Lauber Award is granted each year for an achievement in aviation safety. This achievement must demonstrate clear advancement of aviation safety by an individual or an organization. Due to the nature of aviation safety, nominees for the award are *not* limited to any specific sector or division of the aviation community and all areas are eligible and welcome to participate in recognizing advancements in aviation safety. Nominees do not have to be UAA members. The award is made each year in honor of John K. Lauber, a pioneer in the field of aviation safety and human factors.

### NOMINEE PERSONAL INFORMATION

| Education:                        |  |
|-----------------------------------|--|
|                                   |  |
|                                   |  |
|                                   |  |
| Place of Employment and Position: |  |
|                                   |  |
|                                   |  |
|                                   |  |
| Affiliations:                     |  |
|                                   |  |
|                                   |  |
|                                   |  |
| Civic Activities:                 |  |
|                                   |  |
|                                   |  |
|                                   |  |
| Past Awards:                      |  |
|                                   |  |
|                                   |  |
| Conscient Internet Assender       |  |
| Special Interest Awards:          |  |
|                                   |  |
|                                   |  |
|                                   |  |
| Other Pertinent Information:      |  |
|                                   |  |
|                                   |  |
|                                   |  |
|                                   |  |
|                                   |  |
|                                   |  |
|                                   |  |
|                                   |  |

## **DEADLINE: JUNE 6, 2017**